Post-Script on Last Night’s Wedding Post

Rather appropriately, after writing last night’s post, I went to bed only to have my very first wedding nightmare!

No zombies, nothing exciting like that. More’s the pity. It was a very mundane nightmare, which made it probably worse, as it stemmed from more or less rational fears. In it, no one helped me put the decorations together on the day. I couldn’t get my best friend and maid of honor to help me with anything. I pleaded with everyone I saw to get Julia for me, and she was never there. My mother was still showering two hours past the time of the ceremony, and John’s mother kept yelling at me for not having things done. There were a hundred people sitting in chairs waiting for the ceremony to begin at 4:30, and it got dark around 6 and they were still out there waiting. No one would help me into my dress. Everyone laughed at me and called me useless and told me it didn’t matter that it was starting hours late, and I finally sat down and bawled like a baby.

Oh dear. I think I would have preferred the zombies. Horrible. I never get nightmares. I can think about blood and vampires and rotting flesh and character torture before sleeping tight, snug in my bed, but my wedding? Apparently my subconscious is petrified about the ceremony.

Damn you, subconscious.

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on 15 September, 2011, in snapshots life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh, I’m sorry about the nightmare – those are horrible. That feeling of impotency is harsh. The day will come, bright and clear, and you’ll have so many helpers you won’t know what to do with ’em. And if anyone is waiting, let them wait – just make sure there’s chips and dip and everyone will be fine. 🙂

    • Thanks! Yeah, it was a bit of a horrid nightmare. I’m not too worried about what will happen on the day, though. Food, open bar — everything should be right as rain. Just, you know. Hopefully without the rain. 🙂

Leave a Reply

