Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

This post may contain some spoilers. You have been warned.  If you don’t want to risk it, begone.

I saw Part I of the movie today.  First impression?  It was magnificent.  I was going to lead with my agreement about it being broken into chunks, but then I thought back to what my first impression really was.  Within minutes of it starting, I was stunned.  I was glued to my seat for the entire film.  And yeah, there were multiple tears shed.  In fact, I came home and read the book.

Here’s why I think it is so brilliant:  I don’t know if I’ve ever seen a film stick so faithfully to the literal text of a book (having seen it and read it within 12 hours, I can attest to the fact that a huge amount of the film was word for word) whilst creating a glorious and beautiful world and creating something with the best parts of cinema as well.  It wasn’t overly flashy in many parts, but there were some huge stunners exactly where they should have been.  It captured the frustration and urgency of people desperately searching for things they have no idea where to find.  And the acting was superb.  Some may not agree, but…I’ve watched all seven movies thus far.  To watch Rupert Grint, Emma Watson, Daniel Radcliffe, and all the others mature and to see the performances they all pulled off in this movie was joyous.  I can’t wait to see the conclusion.

Ebert gave it 3/4 stars, though the only negative thing he had to say was that it would be completely unintelligible for someone coming to the series for the first time…really?  If this film, which is labeled Part I of II for one thing and the seventh installment in an eight film series for another, could stand alone, it would be a pretty rotten film with no continuity and way too much exposition.  If he marked that one star off for that, I would be pretty disgusted.  For anyone who has that complaint, what on earth did you expect?  My boyfriend wouldn’t go see it with me because he knew it would be lost on him — take the time to watch the first ones before getting your panties in a twist about not understanding the seventh.  Lawdy.

Sorry for the bunny trail.  Anyway, I love the magic of Harry Potter.  I love that even though I’ve read the books several times, I still get lost in them.

It’s 5:30 am…I need to get some sleep.  If I had a Harry Potter-esque wand, I believe it would be 11 inches, rowan and dragon heartstring.  🙂

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on 23 November, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

