Mist and Bagel Mornings with a Side of Awkward

I love waking up on misty mornings.

Actually. Let me rephrase that. I love finding out that it is a misty morning after I wake up. I hate waking up in the morning, as a general rule. But finding out that it’s misty outside, and that the world is cloaked in haze, is a nice pick-me-up.

I guess I’m just weird that way. I like rain.

I also like a good bagel in the mornings. I miss living in Sylvan Park–there was a great little bagel place my roommate introduced me to. Star Bagel. Fantabulous. I used to get the everything bagel with cream cheese and lox spread. Om nom nom. So good.

Life’s kinda weird. I feel like I’m floating a lot of the time. I haven’t really lived anywhere with any sense of permanence for a long time, and that doesn’t look like it will change any time soon. I like Nashville okay, as a city. The people here are cool, and it’s been surprisingly easy to get connected with friends and people with similar interests, but it’s just not really for me. I’m not country gal. I don’t know if I’m city gal–I like the space of the country, but the culture’s just not for me. I’m not a country music, honky tonking sort of female. I’m a tri-lingual Europhile with a propensity for left-wing politics. So this is probably not where I’d be best at home. I’ve only been here for five months. I thought it might be longer before I thought this way, but it’s not really. We’ll see where it leads me.

Things I like: liberalism, openmindedness, writing, writers, good music, indie bands, electronica, diversity, secularism, foreigners, foreign food, foreign languages, history, the ocean, museums, walking places, good concerts, progressives, politics, cold winters, pretty fall leaves, intellectualism, etc.

Things I don’t like: hardcore right-wingers (gross generality, but still), living in a red state, 80-degree weather in November, driving in cities, southern accents (sorry!), racism, 80-degree weather in November (I really hate being hot)…and some others.

Did I pick the wrong city or what? Ugh. Nashville is pretty liberal. Davidson County in general is a fairly blue-friendly area, but the state in totality is redder than red. I sincerely hate driving to work. I hated it in Denver, and that didn’t change when I got here, even though Nashville drivers are worlds better than Denver drivers. I’m utterly serious about that.

Am I a big city girl at heart? I have no idea. I don’t think I could handle New York. Don’t get me wrong–I adore New York City. It’s a fantastic city with heaps and heaps of culture, amazing food (drool, drool), museums, clubs, CENTRAL PARK (lurve it), and loads of other nice things. But Manhattan is so crowded, I don’t know if I could stand living there. Plus, it is SO FREAKING EXPENSIVE. Egad, Brain. I

Boston might be nice. But I don’t know if I want to be THAT far north. Philly? Dunno. They have cheesesteaks. Om nom.

So we’ll see.

Till then, I have some good concerts to look forward to, and a probable awkward reunion with an old roommate who I’m pretty sure didn’t like me.  Wheeeeeeeee.

About Emmie Mears

Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time.

Posted on 14 November, 2008, in meanderings, snapshots life, thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

